macro lenses

12 years 4 months ago #177114 by Maria21
I know I'm going to sound like a complete newbie asking this but I'm going to ask it anyway. i bought a couple of used lenses & did not get the info on them. I understand that a macro is a 1 to 1 ratio & according to the info that I found when I looked up the stats on these lenses and 2 of them should be macros. So keeping that in mind i tired to get a few closeups like the kewl bug shots a few of you have posted & haven't got anywhere close..so are you guys using additional filters, resizing in post? any tips? Here is a sample.. I'd really like to try some snowflake pic once we get some snow this winter.

Zerfing's Photographic Imaging
Attachments:
12 years 4 months ago #177135 by Henry Peach

Maria21 wrote: I understand that a macro is a 1 to 1 ratio & according to the info that I found when I looked up the stats on these lenses and 2 of them should be macros.

I agree that macro should mean a 1:1 reproduction ratio, but it's easy to find a lot of lenses that the manufacturers label "macro" that won't do 1:1. What lenses do you have?
12 years 4 months ago #177161 by effron
Like HP said, your lens details, please. Also, here are some good starting tips....
www.thephotoargus.com/tips/tips-for-macr...he-extreme-close-up/
www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/macro-lenses.htm

Why so serious?
Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: McBeth Photography
12 years 4 months ago #177211 by Baydream
Some of us who do not have "Macro" lenses use extension tubes to get near or at 1:1.

Shoot, learn and share. It will make you a better photographer.
fineartamerica.com/profiles/john-g-schickler.html?tab=artwork

Photo Comments
12 years 4 months ago #177224 by Stealthy Ninja
To get 1:1 you can not use autofocus. You have use manual focus to set the ratio you want (usually just set it at the closest focusing it can do) then move the lens/camera back and forward till it's in focus.