Are you shooting all your landscape in F/22?

12 years 1 month ago #214221 by NormNYC
So landscape you want as much sharpness as you can get. So does that mean you are always shooting in f/22 when enough light is available? I've been working on my landscape photography, and after reading another photographers blog post a few weeks ago that suggested all landscape shots should be take with the f/22 or the smallest aperture available. After trying this out a couple weeks, I'm finding flaws and restrictions to this so called rule. I'm no pro so would like to hear from others on this topic.

The following user(s) said Thank You: McBeth Photography
12 years 1 month ago #214227 by mattmoran
Lenses are almost never sharpest at either the largest or smallest aperture.

Most landscapes don't need extreme dof, the subject is at infinity. You could use any aperture. You only need f/22 to do extreme near/far shots where you have a subject in the foreground and a far away background that needs to be in focus.

-Matt
The following user(s) said Thank You: McBeth Photography
12 years 1 month ago #214236 by McBeth Photography
I usually shoot landscape at F8 or f11. It just seems to be the sweet spot for most of my lenses.

It is what it is.
12 years 1 month ago #214240 by Darrell
:agree: :agree:

You will not be judged as a photographer by the pictures you take, but by the pictures you show.
12 years 1 month ago #214248 by NormNYC

mattmoran wrote: Lenses are almost never sharpest at either the largest or smallest aperture.

Most landscapes don't need extreme dof, the subject is at infinity. You could use any aperture. You only need f/22 to do extreme near/far shots where you have a subject in the foreground and a far away background that needs to be in focus.

I didn't know at about the lens not being sharpest at smallest apertures. Good tip to know.

12 years 1 month ago #214250 by mattmoran

NormNYC wrote: