Wedding Photography...

11 years 9 months ago #241628 by mconnell09
Okay, first off NO i am not a professional. Yes the weddings i have done people know this.
I'm learning as I go, but I would like to pick your brains.

Gawd, it is frustrating as heck trying to shoot portraits when other people have their camera's out. I guess I have to be that "bitch photographer" and ask that they don't take pictures while I am?!!!!
What do you think? What is your suggestions? Advice? Tips?

Secondly, can ANYONE get to the frickin session ON TIME before the ceremony? 45 minutes late is NOT acceptable. I schedule an hour for each (groom and his men, and then bride and her girls) then that still gives me an hour before the wedding ceremony to prepare, etc...
Suggestions? More than an hour session? I feel like if i schedule them any flippin earlier then i'm sitting/standing around for hours before the wedding. SMH

11 years 9 months ago #241633 by Darrell
I let people know that they are welcome to take pics after I get the shot. Most people listen, you can also ask the mc to announce your request.
I think you have to keep in mind that this is an extremely busy day for everyone and having pictures done is only 5% of what they have to do before the wedding. I go to where they are getting ready, rest of shots are done before reception.

You will not be judged as a photographer by the pictures you take, but by the pictures you show.
11 years 9 months ago #241666 by icepics
I'm noticing that sometimes people make a significant point in the first sentence or two of their post - you said you're not a professional and people know it. Maybe they're more lax about things because they see you as a friend more than as 'The Wedding Photographer'. As Darrell said, maybe you need to think about how you're taking charge and directing the picture taking.