Ken Kaminesky Signature Edition Hitech filters?

7 years 3 months ago #512285 by Roger.T
I better ask my question that I came here today to ask before I get wrapped up in the other post here and forget! 

I was reading a landscape photography article from this site and they were recommending Hitech filters.  I've never used these before and never bothered to look them up.  Honestly, I thought they were cheap knockoff filters from China for some reason.  Well that is the impression I got a few years ago after reading a blog post on forum community I belonged to at the time.  

So, I've been snooping around their website and see this company is NOT in china and apparently out of the UK and has a US site. 

This kit:

www.formatt-hitechusa.com/photo-kits/mas...ky-signature-edition

I'm attracted to the price and what you get, but I'm wondering how is the quality of these filters?  
  • Firecrest ND 3.0 (10 stops)
  • Firecrest ND 1.8 (6 stops)
  • Firecrest ND 0.9 (3 stops)
  • Firecrest Soft Edge ND Grad 0.6 (2 stops)
  • Firecrest Soft Edge ND Grad 0.9 (3 stops)
  • 67 & 85mm Kits
    • Aluminium Holder
    • 67mm Kit:  39, 46, 52 & 62mm adaptor rings
    • 85mm Kit:  58, 67, 72 & 77mm adaptor rings
    • Polariser ring
    • Firecrest SuperSlim Circular Polariser
  • 100mm Kit
    • (NEW) Firecrest 100mm Filter Holder
      • Soft Touch Outer Case
      • 82-82mm Rotating Adaptor Ring
      • 67-82mm Step Ring
      • 72-82mm Step Ring
      • 77-82mm Step Ring
      • Firecrest 82mm Ultraslim polariser

The only reason people get lost in thought is because it's unfamiliar territory.
7 years 3 months ago #512305 by effron
No better, maybe no worse than SinghRay, or Lee. The kit includes a few things I wouldn't use, I'm happy with my Lee holder and I'll buy filters as needed. I have a couple Hitechs and they're fine....

Why so serious?
Photo Comments
7 years 3 months ago #512312 by Roger.T
Hey thanks.  You mind me asking what you shoot the most?  Landscapes?