From Nikon DF to?

6 years 1 month ago #575801 by nattacan
Hello! I own a Nikon DF since a few years back. Originally bought cause I own a Nikon Fm3a and shooting analogue is the reason I started shooting at all thus holds a special place in my heart. Recently I have been thinking of making the choice to switch to another DSLR with video and wifi option. Although I suppose Nikon is the "easier" choice since you can still use same lenses as with the Fm3a. Nevertheless, I prefer the distinctive colour that Canon has with skin tone and such but a bit hesitant to use that as the only reason for the big switch. 

An imbecile question perhaps, but keeping a long story short, is there DSLR camera out there that possesses the "feel" of analogue film although being digital? (Yes, I do also use Lightroom) I shoot more people and street photography, lines and shapes, rather than landscapes, nature and animals.

Any input or advice would be appreciated.

Been looking into>
Canon 6D Mark ii (although reviews are mixed)
Sony α7 III 
Fuji xt20

6 years 1 month ago #575916 by Kayla Deis
For me personally I would go with the Sony α7 III.  The camera comes highly recommended, Sony has a ton of glass for it.  And it feels good in my hands.  

Have you handled any of these yet?  

Photo Comments
6 years 1 month ago #575933 by garyrhook
When you say "distinctive color in skin tones" you mean "red", right?

You also realize that you could compare a film medium format to a digital medium format, and they'd be very similar?

In short, I think the Df is unique. It's still being sold. If it's not meeting your needs with respect to "analog feel", nothing else will.

Does this "feel" really make a difference, or is it all in your mindset? And if it really matters, why not go back to film? Manufacturers are starting to produce product again.

Photo Comments
6 years 1 month ago #575946 by Overread
I wonder if Nikon plans to update the DF with some newer specs?  

Any rumors in rumorville?