Newbie here... Anyone else here HATE having to pose people?

1 year 10 months ago #739223 by kaneki83
I like candid photos. I like to just be in the middle of everything and get photos as it's happening. If I happen to miss something then I'll ask someone to just do it again, no problem. But I HATE posing people for photos.
Partially because it's just hard to get the vision across so I end up having to physically put people where I need them to be and I don't like disrupting personal space lmao (social anxiety is a pain in the butt) but mainly because then people tend to overthink it (understandably so, I am the same way) and the photos don't seem as natural and... immersive?
Are candid photographers a thing? I would love to be able to bring this hobby to a side hustle level but I never really try to pursue it for this reason.

1 year 10 months ago - 1 year 10 months ago #739256 by TCav
When I was a kid, my parents took my sister and I on camping trips. When we'd stop at scenic overlooks, etc., my sister and I would run off to play with the other kids, but my mother would  always call us back to pose in front of the overlook while she struggled to compose a photo with her Argus Argoflex TLR. Being posed always took the fun out of those trips.

Everything I shoot is candid for exactly that reason.

If I see someone posing in my viewfinder, I put the camera down and turn away.

1 year 10 months ago #739380 by CanonKid
Not my favorite thing about photography, but I wouldn't say I don't enjoy it.  I tolerate it would be better representation.  

Canon 7D, 15-85mm, 18-55mm, 70-200mm, 100mm Macro, Sigma 120-300mm, Speedlite 430EX II

A bad day at the race track is better than a good day in the office

Photo Comments
1 year 10 months ago #739392 by icepics
I've done sports and events, candid shots because it's recording images of what's happening.