Does anyone know of a free photo editing software that allows you to overlay?

11 months 4 weeks ago #751704 by Leilanee
I used to love adding textures to my photos. I have a lightroom subscription, but it constantly tells me my textures are incompatible with my photos and won't let me merge/overlay them. As far as I know there's no way to override this, so I can't use Lightroom to add textures to my photos.

I'm not paying $30/month for photoshop considering I'm an extremely casual hobbyist; I've only just started using my camera for the first time in like 6 years. Every app I look at in the app store has an overlay option locked behind a paywall. Is anyone aware of an app I can use where I won't have to pay to do a simple overlay?

The closest I could find was Adobe Express, but there's no erase tool in the free version, and I would prefer to be able to erase elements of the photos.
I'm fairly certain the functionality I'm looking for is something I'm going to need to pay for but if I can avoid it that would be great considering my Lightroom subscription is enough money spent.

11 months 4 weeks ago #751714 by Ira Weber
You'll want to look at Gimp, I'm near certain that has what you are after.  

Photo Comments
11 months 4 weeks ago #751720 by Rawley Photos
There are several free or lower-cost alternatives to Photoshop that you can use for basic photo editing and overlaying textures. Here are a few options you might consider:
  1. GIMP (GNU Image Manipulation Program): GIMP is a powerful and free open-source image editor that offers many of the features found in Photoshop. It supports layers and layer masks, which will allow you to overlay textures and erase elements easily. You can download GIMP from its official website ( https://www.gimp.org/ ).