How are you keeping a client with a bad temper in check and being respectful?

6 months 3 weeks ago #756826 by Barbara Fite
I have a woman client who I have been photographing her boys for 6 years and during the last couple years she has become more and more difficult to deal with.  I don't know if she has something on with work, but she is often rude and have come close to being disrespectful.  How do you put these sort of people in check without ticking them off and triggering something unpleasent? 

Photo Comments
6 months 3 weeks ago - 6 months 3 weeks ago #756870 by Razky

Barbara Fite wrote: I have a woman client who I have been photographing her boys for 6 years and during the last couple years she has become more and more difficult to deal with. I don't know if she has something on with work, but she is often rude and have come close to being disrespectful. How do you put these sort of people in check without ticking them off and triggering something unpleasent? 

Sounds like a question for a psychologist. And as usual, we only know one side of the story - there very well may be a reason for the lady's behaviour.

6 months 2 weeks ago #756886 by Hassner
The best tip that was given to me, is to lovingly put your had on their shoulder, arm or take their hand in both your hands and ask: “Is everything okay?” When they want to brush it off, you can reply by: “You are projecting a lot of stress onto me. Are you sure?"

All people do not want to be asses, but their lack of skills dealing with stress, hate, trauma makes them take it out onto others. We do not have to make it ours, but we are sometimes scared to stand our ground. Make them feel they deal with a loving understanding person and be ready to someone that might open up or hopefully she just apologises and you can continue work.  

This person is a posting maniac and deserves a #1 badge!Top Poster
No one kicks up there feet next to the water cooler better than this person.  Top poster - LoungeLounge Guru