Does this photo software even exist? ...

4 months 2 weeks ago #759473 by bradleyheathhays
I'm a woodworker and I've got an idea for a piece that's gonna take some kind of photo mosaic software.  Thing is, most of the software I've found so far keeps input photos in their original top up orientation, and I need the software to feel free to rotate the input pictures in the final mosaic.

Here's my idea.  I'll be cutting LOTS of wood squares out about 1"x1", baking them in the over at varying times/temps so they have different hues, taking a picture of each one, labeling the blocks on the back to keep track of them, and then load the pics into some mosaic software to create a large picture.  If the software were to allow the input pictures to be rotated in the final mosaic, not only could you not tell as these are pictures of wood blocks, but the end picture will end up looking better for it.

Thanks for the help.

4 months 2 weeks ago #759505 by CharleyL
I became a little bit lost in your description of the plan, but it would seem like most any photo software like Photo Shop, Affinity, etc. should be able to do this. It can get complicated, because of the number of steps required, but it gets easier with practice.

If this needs a background photo to which all of these smaller images will be applied, you copy that photo into the software first and it becomes your base layer. Then, each photo of the pieces get loaded into a separate "Layer" within the program and then it's surrounding waste is removed via a "clipping method" leaving only the image itself on the layer. You basically want just the image of the item and not any of it's surrounding background. It's kind-of like clip art (think paper dolls).