Quick question on what you charge for photo shoot pricing:

12 years 11 months ago #79611 by Gammill
I've been asked to shoot a engagement and a engagement party of roughly 75 people (at the party).

I have very limited experience with this sort of shoot. How much would you charge for this and what would you offer?

Photo Comments
12 years 11 months ago #79617 by ozman1865
Hello,

First off I am new to the charging part of this side of photography. with that said. my first question would have to be what does the client want from the shoot. is the consentration of photos being of the couple or of the 75 in the party. New question would have to be do you use a lab to process your photos, and if so what are your costs per print. you would need to establish a margin you are wanting to make from each print and book or package they are after. I have done several shoots that required me to establish different packages which offer different stuff in them. I currently am a zenfolio web page owner and using mpix for my processing have established that I have many opitions and pricing structures to accomadate most things I have encounters thus far. I have also through zenfolio used several of the vendors they use to make books and other products like coffee mugs and such.

Okay this is not a ploy to get you to try zenfolio or anything like that but just stateing my approach to this problem. You need to figure out what your worth is on an hourly basis also and charge for the so called setting fee which is really a charge for service rather than the setting. LOL anyway. I myself have caught myself saying I haven't done that so I am not sure I should attempt it. I am still that way with weddings as there are so many can't miss shots in a wedding I am not sure I could pull it off.... and I am looking for someone willing to let me shoot as a second so I can learn the ropes a bit first.