my first black and white

4 years 1 month ago #679040 by keith1955
I am new to high tech photo gear , after loosing a lot of pals over the last year i have said stuff the cost to everything i want hence my set up. I have all canon gear , a 90d , a 50mm f 1.4 , a 50mm f 1.8 the 100-400mm mk2 zoom , the zoom will be for dophins. 

With a few extras the whole package came out at just under £4,000

As a noobie i am slowly getting to grips with how everything works and in a few weeks i will be going on a "get you off auto" photographic course. I have taken a lot of photos of this building to try out monochrome and the best setting on the day with the 50mm f 1.4 came out at shutter 1/500 F8 and iso 800.

You may not agree with my settings but as i say i am a noobie

FOOTNOTE:- Before anyone asks why i got 2 different 50mm , i got the F 1.8 without realising it is primarily for portraits so i got the 1.4 a few days later.

Attachments:
4 years 1 month ago #679046 by Nikon Shooter

keith1955 wrote: Before anyone asks why i got 2 different 50mm , i got the F 1.8 without realising it is primarily for portraits so i got the 1.4 a few days later.

Really, Keith, serious?

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments
4 years 1 month ago #679047 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day Keith

Firstly - WELCOME to the photo forum - you will find plenty of people here with the knowledge and skills to assist you

Your post is titled 'my first black and white' - but where is it? ~ maybe try again to insert your image

Okay - back to your equipment ~ I do not use dSLR cameras (preferring superzooms) but cannot see the need for 2x 50mm lenses. Meethinks that you have been sold a pup here ... see if you can take one back for a refund

The 100-400 will become very useful for more than 'just dolphins' ~ but if you start to find the weight of the camera plus lens is too much, you might need a good monopod when out and about.

ps- here's a link to some of my recent long-zoom pix