Gimp 2.6 vs Photoshop CS5

13 years 3 weeks ago #42080 by Foggy
So Gimp 2.6 is free and Photoshop CS5 you need to take a 2nd mortgage out to buy. :rofl: Just messing around Adobe! ;)

Seriously, has anyone ever done a side by side comparison? I was going to down load Gimp, but was warned that free software are prone to virus attacks?

Anyone ever have any security problems with Gimp?

Photo Comments
13 years 3 weeks ago #42094 by Cre8tivefix
Pros
I've been using Gimp for about 2 years now with no problems. You can do a lot of the same things that photoshop can do and it has a similar layout and tools. There is a large library of plug in for it, and effect filters, and those are also free. So being FREE and those other things are major bonuses in my book. Also if you really want it do something specific that is doesn't already do... you can try your had at writing that script or editing the program yourself. And once again... it's FREE and you don't loose anything to try it.

Cons
it is an 8 bit program where as photoshop is 16 bit, So PS is definitely a higher powered program. Most of these differences won't show up in on screen but will if you are trying to make a high quality large picture and then depending on the pictures itself, sometimes you can tell, sometimes you can't (personally my eye is not that discerning yet). The latest PS has some really nice features like it's smart cloning/filling and things like that, that Gimp doesn't have yet. The plug ins and effects aren't typically as polished as their equivalents in PS would be. There are more PS users, so it's easier to find help and resources for PS. And finally because there aren't as many plugins and filters, you have to learn how to achieve many of the looks and effects manually. This is a plus and a minus. It's good to actually know what is going on, but it takes longer.