Let's talk tubes

12 years 10 months ago #90571 by mj~shutterbugg
I see I can boost my macros capability by adding tubes. Explain this to me please. I am new to macro with anything besides a macro lens and would love to upgrade to the 100 Canon Macro but alas it's a pipe dream right now but adding some tubes would be in the budget. So what to I look for and what exactly do I have to do?

Think Off-Center ~ George Carlin
www.mjbrennanphoto.com

12 years 10 months ago - 12 years 10 months ago #90577 by MLKstudios
If you go from infinity (far away) to the closest distance, the lens moves away from the camera. But, there is a limit to how far out the lens can go. Extension tubes extend that limit so you can focus closer.

They are nothing more than "holes" that hold the lens away from the body. You need those that match the mount of your camera is all.

Note, when used, you lose the ability to focus on infinity again, so they are only good in close range.

HTH :)

Matthew L Kees
MLK Studios Photography School
www.MLKstudios.com
[email protected]
"Every artist, was once an amateur"

12 years 10 months ago #90589 by kyclover237
So, would an extension tube be useful for taking sports photography? My zoom is good but I can't afford the really expensive zoom lenses.

vintagecloverphoto.com
[email protected]

12 years 10 months ago #90593 by chasrich
Back in the day... Bellows were used for extreme macro. They still are I assume... They allow the lens to be moved out away from the camera on a set of rails. Tubes do the same thing only on a fixed basis and they are much cheaper. I have my tubes but have not played with them yet. I'm wondering if tubes can be used in conjunction with a reversing adapter... This is a rhetorical question really as I intend to experiment and find out on my own. I need to get my white coat from the cleaners. :woohoo: <- mad scientist!