Dinner time!

11 years 11 months ago - 11 years 11 months ago #227633 by shelland
As a hobbyist, I was pumped when I lucked out and got this shot. I have been trying to get one of these blue herons (I think that's what it is?) for over a year, and have never gotten close enough to get anything decent before scaring them away.

Yesterday, I totally lucked out. This was in a small pond a few miles from our house. I happened to bring my camera along just in case one of the birds was there when I drove by on my way to trusty Target. I drove by and didn't see any. Turned around to head back toward Target and saw it tucked in a corner when driving back by. I sneaked to the edge of some tall grass and got some pictures from one angle, which I was already excited about (even though they weren't great). Then I walked behind some trees and tall grass, and slowly slid out the other side, which was a closer angle.

I snapped some pictures, which I was elated to finally get. Then this happened right as I was shooting a set in burst. I literally filled my card 3 pictures after this.

I haven't tried to do much with the color yet, I was just pumped to completely luck out to not only get the bird at all but then have this happen while I happened to be shooting. I'm no editing whiz - not sure if I'll be able to tame the white of his head and also lighten up the fish at all? (I have LR3)

I know it's far from perfect technically, but I'm excited none the less. :) (when I right click on the image in my album, it won't give me the direct URL to embed it here)

www.photographytalk.com/photo-galleries/...19115#photoid=200966

BTW - he lost the fish. The next picture in the burst, he is empty mouthed...

Scott

- Twin Cities, MN

11 years 11 months ago #227642 by Baydream
Wonderful capture. Well done.:cheer:

Shoot, learn and share. It will make you a better photographer.
fineartamerica.com/profiles/john-g-schickler.html?tab=artwork

Photo Comments
11 years 11 months ago #227644 by robbie