butterflies....need some constructive critisism

11 years 7 months ago - 11 years 7 months ago #252170 by twiggy2151
Hi all....I am fairly new to dslr's and would like some feedback on my photo's....pretty much to see if I am heading in the right direction lol....I keep my camera in manual mode, I am just not happy with auto...I graduated from a panasonic lumix pocket camera (which I just loved! great little camera!) to a canon t2i, the lens I used for these is the 50mm 1.8...I am just loving this camera....taking great (well I think they are....maybe not lol) photo's is so much easier now....I think my panny taught me alot! thanks for taking a look and pre thanks for any advice!!

The following user(s) said Thank You: MajorMagee
11 years 7 months ago #252175 by pinoldy
Beautiful series Twiggie!

I like the way you've caught the play of light in the second photo.

Also like the shot color in the shot of two butterflies. And it's gotta be pretty exciting to catch two in one frame!

The following user(s) said Thank You: twiggy2151
11 years 7 months ago #252176 by twiggy2151
thankyou.....I have been trying to catch there wings like stained glass......#2 is my fav. too...the funny thing is it is the plainest butterfly that visits my yard..I am not sure what kind it is....It is brown with two eye spots,,,thats about it....the pic with the two butterflies was totally unintended. I was framing a lone monarch, and right when I hit the shutter another one came in and attacked it...it all happened in a split second, right when I pressed the button luckly, right after they were over my head fighting....turns out most butterflies are aggressive...hummingbirds too! thanks for the compliments!!

11 years 7 months ago #252179 by icepics