Are you a pro photographer?

12 years 7 months ago #144916 by Kitzmiller
So the difference between a person who is a hobbyist and pro is a hobbyist doesn't really care about making money with their camera and a pro does?

I'm basically just sharing what I read on another blog, this seems pretty believable, but then again doesn't. So I'm posting this up to get some additional views. I think a hobbyist might be where they are because of lack of skill to be a pro. I guess the above could apply to certain photographers and others maybe not.

Photo Comments
The following user(s) said Thank You: Rascal07
12 years 7 months ago #144921 by Dori
I guess I look at it this way, I am a hobbyist and probably always will be. However, I wish to create photos like a pro. But then again, I have always been the 'eternal student'. :P

Don't pi$$ me off, I am running out of room to store the bodies...

Resident Texasotan...

12 years 7 months ago #144930 by chasrich
I think there is two types of pro... one is a state of mind. Doing the best job you can where your reputation is on the line. The other type is someone being paid to take photos. It is possible to be either one and, of course, both at the same time.

“Amateurs worry about equipment, professionals worry about money, masters worry about light, I just make pictures… ” ~ Vernon Trent
12 years 7 months ago #144949 by Tamgerine
There are so many aspects to being a professional that can be factored in other than just being paid for your work.

When I use the phrase, "I'm a professional" I'm expressing everything that makes me a professional. I act like one, I take my craft seriously, I take business endeavors seriously, and I know what I need to accomplish in order to get the work done the right way. I show up for work on time, and I'm polite, courteous, and customer-service minded.