Are you self taught or have formal photography training?

12 years 2 months ago #200092 by The Original Daisy
I was reading this morning where a blogger was suggesting that most photographers these days are self taught. I'm wondering with the growing availability of online photography courses if more and more people are coming into the photography industry with some sort of training?

I mean some of these course are pretty inexpensive and very well marketed in areas where photographers are spending time. See my point?

12 years 2 months ago #200094 by crystal
I am self taught.
12 years 2 months ago #200103 by Scotty
Both.

When the last candle has been blown out
and the last glass of champagne has been drunk
All that you are left with are the memories and the images-David Cooke.

Photo Comments
12 years 2 months ago #200104 by Baydream
Also mostly self-taught. My only formal class was in college - a one semester course using 8x10 cameras and a darkroom while getting a degree in graphic design (pre-computer days). Add to that 2 or 3 workshops. A lot of my "education" has been through clubs, critiques and on-line info like that available here and in the links provided here.

Shoot, learn and share. It will make you a better photographer.
fineartamerica.com/profiles/john-g-schickler.html?tab=artwork

Photo Comments
12 years 2 months ago #200130 by Darrell
Both....

You will not be judged as a photographer by the pictures you take, but by the pictures you show.
12 years 2 months ago #200166 by Rob pix4u2
Originally taught by my Father and Uncle then self taught with a few workshops and community education classes thrown in.

Remember to engage brain before putting mouth in gear
Rob Huelsman Sr.
My Facebook www.facebook.com/ImaginACTIONPhotography

12 years 2 months ago #200168 by effron
No formal training, both things I know, I learned myself.......:P

Why so serious?
Photo Comments
12 years 2 months ago #200175 by Joves