Ok so now that I have a DSLR people expect me to be good... ;)

11 years 10 months ago #241343 by GiraffeSpots
Seriously. Ever since I upgraded my camera I think there are more expectations. I'm just a hobbyist, mom and gardener. I upgraded my camera with the intention of learning more and getting better but I'm not all of a sudden better because of my camera (I'm sure the professionals on this site would give a hardy "Here! Here!" to this sentiment!)

Haha sorry this is a bit of a rant. It's just because I went to a family picnic last weekend and everyone just wanted me to take a photo of this and that and then they'd take a look on the screen and I could see some disappointment in their faces. Lighting was wrong, angles were wrong, I'm not really sure but they didn't turn out well. I have no knack for portraits that's for sure.

Maybe there is some simple book or website I can look up to help me out with just family candids. How to be a better 'mom photographer' type thing... anyone else experience this or am I just being dramatic? :whistle:

11 years 10 months ago #241344 by Rob pix4u2
keep practicing is the best advise I can give, you will improve

Remember to engage brain before putting mouth in gear
Rob Huelsman Sr.
My Facebook www.facebook.com/ImaginACTIONPhotography

The following user(s) said Thank You: GiraffeSpots
11 years 10 months ago #241354 by icepics
You have some common sense about it... wonder if your relatives have any hobbies or anything they do that they could remember back to when they started. Maybe you could work into the conversation something to help them realize when you're new at something, you're still learning...

I'm not sure why there seems to be this perception that because it's a digital camera it's going to take stupendous photos right out of the box. If you buy gourmet cookware is it going to hop out of the box and cook you a feast?? if it worked that way I'd have my pots and pans cooking me a gourmet dinner every night!