Need some advice on getting started photographing high school seniors?

10 years 5 months ago #313265 by Wayne Tidwell
I graduated last year from high school, and last month I started visiting the school and handing out flyers for senior portraits taken by me. This lasted for a couple days before I was told I can't be doing that. So I figured I would put flyers on all the cars , well that didn't go too well either. I contacted the school and they said that they already had a company that was contracted to come in and take the needed photos and they reminded me that I couldn't hand out any flyers or business cards on their property. I'm just getting started and have invested most of my money into my gear. What ways can I advertise to high school seniors and not break what is left in the bank. Which isn't much. Any ideas would be super appreciated.

Wayne

Photo Comments
10 years 5 months ago #313317 by Stealthy Ninja
What I'd like to see is some examples of photos you've taken before.

If you can't show your work you won't get very far. People will just stick with the ol' photographer the school has a contract with (they may be better than you, so your first step is to get better than them, give them a reason to choose you over the other photographer).
10 years 5 months ago #313381 by effron

Stealthy Ninja wrote: What I'd like to see is some examples of photos you've taken before.

If you can't show your work you won't get very far. People will just stick with the ol' photographer the school has a contract with (they may be better than you, so your first step is to get better than them, give them a reason to choose you over the other photographer).

Yeah, this is true. You must get your work out there, and if its going to take that contracted business, it better be good....

Why so serious?
Photo Comments
10 years 5 months ago #313471 by Drew Fletcher