Nikon D500 vs D4

6 years 1 month ago #572225 by paulinoleon
I am looking to purchase a new camera in the next week or two and leaning towards a Nikon D500 or perhaps a used Nikon D4.

I have used crop sensor cameras only before and really like the specs on the D500, I am looking to spend between $1600-$1900 on a new camera and also saw that I could get a used D4 for about that price. I do not have much reason to switch to a full frame camera unless the picture quality will be much better but not sure how an older D4 would stack up against the much newer D500.

Some background on me -
I am very amateur photographer. Started out with a D3200 about 3 years ago, that was my first DSLR. For about the first year I just used the kit lens and was in Auto mode pretty much the entire time. The next year I started shooting in Aperture priority mode and learning more about my camera and got a few extra lenses. This last year upgraded to a D7100 and have gotten more into macro photography. I shoot in full manual mode now and have 5 lens that i use almost exclusively - 35mm prime, 100mm Macro prime, 180mm Macro prime. 11-16mm 2.8 wide angle lens & my 18-400mm travel lens. I mostly shot macro and close up photos of flowers and insects but I do enjoy taking pictures of birds, plants and when I am traveling.

Here is a link to my flicker page with some of the shots from the last year -
www.flickr.com/gp/paulinoleon/8f8qm8

6 years 1 month ago - 6 years 1 month ago #572233 by effron
If I was choosing between those two, I'd go D500...and I have full frame gear already. Full frame vs crop sensor is over rated....(my opinion)

Also..... www.dpreview.com/products/compare/side-b...00&products=nikon_d4

Why so serious?
Photo Comments
6 years 1 month ago #572244 by garyrhook