B&H and Adorama shipping vs Amazon?

5 years 7 months ago #601108 by Jakov Barnes
I've been loving my prime membership from Amazon.  Most items I'm getting delivered are coming in 1 day, I've had a few items that came same day, and otherwise it's 2 days and it' free!  

I feel bad, because as a consumer, I'm looking at price and speed it takes to get something.  B&H back in the day offered free shipping if you spent over a certain threshold.  I honestly can't recall with Adorama.  The point that I'm making is that Amazon is making it tough for retailers, but as a consumer where you save on shipping cost and speed of getting, it's eat or get eaten.  So of course, I buy and continue to buy more and more from Amazon.  Slowly, sad to say, this has got to have a negative impact on B&H and Adorama.  Can these companies in the long haul compete against Amazon successfully?

Photo Comments
5 years 7 months ago #601133 by fmw
I make my living in the e-commerce business (nothing to do with photography.)  Let me share some reality with you.  The reason free shipping is so popular with e-merchants is that it is more profitable.  Shipping is not free.  Somebody has to pay for it.  If it isn't billed directly to the customer then it is built into the price of the product.  Shipping isn't really free.  It is included.

As long as you order just one item from the vendor, paid shipping and free shipping are about the same.  But if you order more than one item that would otherwise have free shipping, the merchant has collected two or more shipping charges (built into the price.) and has more money to pay the shipping charge which could be the same cost as shipping only one.  At least it will cost less than shipping two or more individually. 

For some inexplicable reason, people think they are getting free shipping.  It is a winner for the merchant and the consumer thinks he or she is getting the better deal.  That's reality.