I have a Canon Rebel XSI and looking for Extra Lens but NEEDS Help..

13 years 2 months ago #36449 by LovePhotography
Hi All,

I love Photography and I am just getting started in it but would LOVE to know the difference between the lenses and what is best -

and what I can get for around 150-200?

Anything good.

13 years 2 months ago #36452 by Yasko
I'm assuming you have a kit lens already with your xsi?

My suggestion would be to get an EF 50mm f1.8 lens. Better colors and sharpness and will allow you shoot in lower light conditions than a kit lens. A very decent walk-around and portrait lens to start out with.

The following user(s) said Thank You: LovePhotography
13 years 2 months ago #36454 by crystal
Very little can you buy around $150-200. Like Yasko said... 50mm.
13 years 2 months ago #36455 by LovePhotography
And I can get one of those for about the price range?? And is there a better maker? Canon, Sigma?

Thanks for helping..

13 years 2 months ago #36457 by LovePhotography
Does this have IS or OS?? I would want that feature right???

I am looking at a SIGMA 18-50mm f/2.8-4.5 DC OS HSM Lens

Which one is BETTER???

13 years 2 months ago #36459 by Yasko
Yup, the 50mm f1.8 is only around 130 dollars. It fits the price range you stated.

Sigma makes a better 50mm, but it's around 500 dollars. I think the Canon is the best bang for the buck when it comes to modern 50mm lenses to fit your camera at the price range you mentioned.

13 years 2 months ago #36461 by Yasko

LovePhotography wrote: Does this have IS or OS?? I would want that feature right???

I am looking at a SIGMA 18-50mm f/2.8-4.5 DC OS HSM Lens

Which one is BETTER???

I've heard good things about the new sigma 18-50, but if you currently have an 18-55mm kit lens, I wouldn't bother. Canon kit lenses focus plenty fast, and image stabilization isn't a big issue in an 18-55mm lens. I'd still go for a 50mm f1.8, or save your bucks and spring for something even better