published but no credit

13 years 2 weeks ago #45279 by BowlingQ
How would you feel if one your photos were published in a small magazine, but they gave you no credit? I have seen many magazines who do not give the photographers credit, why is that? Is it because it was a staff photographer? or did the magazine buy the photo via a stock agency?

13 years 2 weeks ago #45282 by QC 89
At this point, it wouldn't bother me if I wouldn't get credit. I'm still learning, and I know my work isn't all that great but if some magazine wants the picture, and not give me credit, so be it. I know it's my picture and that's all that counts.

13 years 2 weeks ago - 13 years 2 weeks ago #45291 by Baydream
Probably staff photographers. Even then they should have the decency to attribute. Other wise they risk copyright suits. Not doing that is "Theft" de-legitimizes the publication.
I have had A photo published in several papers (Irish Moss Farming in the Northumberland Strait), and two in online versions (A lighthouse in Washington Post - attributed, and a dead whale in the Bay - unattributed). I will address the non-attribution this summer if they want to see more. :slapface:

Shoot, learn and share. It will make you a better photographer.
fineartamerica.com/profiles/john-g-schickler.html?tab=artwork

Photo Comments
13 years 2 weeks ago #45427 by photobod
I think all photos should be attributed to the photographer its common decency, and if I saw any of my work published with no sign of my name I would be having serious words. :duel: :duel: :duel:

www.dcimages.org.uk
"A good photograph is one that communicate a fact, touches the heart, leaves the viewer a changed person for having seen it. It is, in a word, effective." - Irving Penn

13 years 2 weeks ago #45545 by ghunt64
I recently had pictures published in a local magazine.

www.invironmentsmag.com/rochelle/current_issue.html