Do you see photography as a good career option these days?

12 years 5 months ago #172251 by Photobrad
Hi Photographytalk.com! I just signed up this morning from San Jose, CA. Let me first say I'm a fan of this site! So I'm a college student majoring in business management for the last few years. I get good grades and enjoy it. But I love photography. Actually I've been playing around with photography since I started school.

I would love to make a living with my camera, but wondering how realistic is that (with the assumption that someday I'll be a great photographer)? Times are different, 15 years ago cameras were much more expensive which meant less people owning them and making a living from their camera. These days camera manufactures have made it so that anyone can afford a really good camera, capable of taking excellent photos in the right hands. As result of that, more photographers are now trying to make a living with their camera. Driving down demand for photographers. Simple business 101.

Do you think the future for professional photographers will be overcome with freelancers biding per job sort of scenario?

12 years 5 months ago #172254 by senmar
There will still be a need for professional photographers, but yes I do see freelance will be more common. However, I don't advice you to quit your education and go for the door of photography. Continue the path you are on now, get your career job and use photography as a hobby, and at some point you can turn that hobby into a couple paying gigs on the weekend.

You didn't say what kind of photography you like to shoot. Weddings and portraits is what brings in the money (to drop your career job and work photography full time). But first thing is first, you need to learn the craft, then you need to gain clients and that will take time.

12 years 5 months ago #172259 by photobod