Certified Professional Photographer Questions

2 years 2 months ago #732596 by ImJenny
Hello Everyone!

I am wondering if anyone can tell me about their experience with or knowledge of the Certified Professional Photographer program through Professional Photographers of America. Is it worth it and why/how?

Thank you for your time; I appreciate it!
Sincerely,
Jenny

2 years 2 months ago #732745 by Prago
I know a few people who have obtained it, and honestly both have seen no benefit other than an extra name title shared among photographers.  Clients care about your quality of your work, not some piece of paper.   

SWM into chainsaws and hockey masks seeks like-minded SWF. No weirdos, please
Photo Comments
2 years 2 months ago #732746 by Nikon Shooter

Prago wrote: Clients care about your quality of your work, not some piece of paper.   

:agree:

I've been a working pro for many many years and I was asked to pull out
my gear many times but never my certifications.

Light is free… capturing it is not!
Photo Comments
2 years 2 months ago #732760 by ImJenny
Thank you, Prago. That's sort of what I was thinking as well, but I didn't want to miss doing something that would help. Your perspective is pretty much what I'm getting on other forums as well. I appreciate you taking the time to answer. Hope you are well!

2 years 2 months ago #732761 by ImJenny
Thanks, Nikon Shooter! Your comment made me think. I appreciate you taking the time to answer. It seems to be the general consensus on all the forums where I asked the question. Hope you are well!

2 years 2 months ago #732764 by Ozzie_Traveller
G'day Jenny

While certification and letters after one's name show clients that you have some industry recognition, sometimes they are acquired merely by paying an annual fee to the treasurer of said organisation!