$3800 to spend on camera and lenses

9 years 7 months ago #400296 by TGonzo
Hello photography talk website.

I'm new to photography and for the last year have managed to save up just about $3,800.  Actually next Friday I'll have $4,200.  I currently have a Sony Cybershot point and shoot camera and want to move to something better.  

At first I was looking at different DSLR's and was on the fence with Nikon and Canon models.  Then I was getting told by friends (I joined a Meetup photography group) that I might want to look at mirrorless cameras.  Then last week which is how I found out about this website, a friend emailed me an interview about the Panasonic gh4 camera.  If I understand correctly that is mirrorless too.  But also something called 4 thirds?  Honestly I'm completely lost now.  

I want something that will allow me to really jump into photography.  So the $4200 (next week figure) will need to get my a camera body and as many lenses as I can.  

Can you recommend what you would buy with that?  Please suggest camera body and lenses.  Thank you so much!!

Tim

Photo Comments
9 years 7 months ago - 9 years 7 months ago #400334 by KCook
The Panasonic GH4 is a Micro4/3 format camera.  The numbers 4 and 3 really aren't that important, just know that this sensor size is a little smaller than the typical DSLR sensor.  The main benefit from the smaller sensor is smaller, lighter, lenses.

Really jump into photography is a really deep pool.  Many of us did this stepwise, starting with a modest camera, work our way up.  At least that is a good route for a enthusiast.  If you are certain that you will be shooting professionally ASAP, then the big jump to expensive gear could be justified.  Different strokes for different folks.  Links for a whole lot of opinions -

www.photographytalk.com/forum/photograph...-you-buy-your-camera

www.photographytalk.com/forum/photograph...to-mirrorless-camera

www.photographytalk.com/photography-arti...751-does-size-matter