Natural light or Flash???

12 years 10 months ago - 12 years 10 months ago #86357 by DavidandJess
I have been shooting weddings and portraits for about 5 years now. I have shot tons of beach weddings, church weddings....
I use natural light probably 80% of the time. I am curious to know what do you prefer Natural or Flash???

12 years 10 months ago #86367 by chasrich
Natural most of the time.

“Amateurs worry about equipment, professionals worry about money, masters worry about light, I just make pictures… ” ~ Vernon Trent
12 years 10 months ago #86369 by photobod
Natural light every time if it was possible but of course it isnt.

www.dcimages.org.uk
"A good photograph is one that communicate a fact, touches the heart, leaves the viewer a changed person for having seen it. It is, in a word, effective." - Irving Penn

12 years 10 months ago #86375 by Johnnie
I use both but prefer Natural Light when possible.

12 years 10 months ago #86491 by cod
I was a natural light "purist" for many years until I finally figured out that the real problem was that I had never really learned to use flash well. What changed my mind was coming across a wealth of articles by photographer Neil van Niekerk on using flash in conjunction with natural light. He is a master at using flash in a way that complements natural light and produces photos that do not look like flash photos at all. The above link is the starting page of a series of articles that have a lot to teach about flash use. Now I use flash a great deal for portraits and functions, producing way better images than I ever had before discovering this resource.

Regards,
Chris

Chris O'Donoghue
Winnipeg, Canada
codonoghue.prosite.com

The following user(s) said Thank You: Cre8tivefix, DavidandJess, sldphotonut, abelmore, blindsidephoto
12 years 10 months ago #86649 by Henry Peach